Toussaint

Wow! I almost missed this concert. I just happened to look in the West Australian and saw a notice that the Dirty Dozen Brass Band were unable to play in Perth but Allen Toussaint would still be. I nearly dropped the paper in shock.

The one and only Allen Toussaint was coming to Perth?

I bought tickets as soon as I could.

The concert was Friday 7 October and it was brilliant. Fantastic. Out of this world. Oh, I am so glad I went and so glad Allen came to town.

I am now trying to assemble a Toussaint inspired vinyl display but in all my collecting and hunting I have never come across a Toussaint album but I do have a few produced by him and a few New Orleans music related albums so I will try and put something together using those.

For now, here are some photos and a clip of what was a fantastic concert.

 

Stage for Legends of New Orleans concert at Freo Arts Centre

Stage for Legends of New Orleans concert at Freo Arts Centre - the piano is in position for Allen

 

 

Allen Toussaint walks on stage

Allen Toussaint walks on stage

 

Allen Toussaint almost at the piano

Allen Toussaint almost at the piano

 

 

Allen Toussaint strikes the keys

Allen Toussaint strikes the keys

 

 

Zoom in shot

Zoomed in too much - crazy colours

 
Toussaint plays on

Toussaint plays on

 

 

Allen Toussaint hands out his set list

At the end of the show Allen Toussaint handed out his set list

 

 

Aro and LP waiting for the show to start

Aro and LP waiting for the show to start

 

Leave a Reply

