A Song For September, Not Just Friday

The week may have started with some rain, but that was just the last gasp of our winter. Spring started midway through the week and the signs are everywhere. For one thing, I am putting aside my winter listening of Blues and old time Country and Bluegrass and reaching for the Power-pop.

Ah, Power-pop. Sure, I like Todd (Rundgren) and I was quite happy that the first Blue Ash album finally made it onto compact disc (just need the second one now) and The Raspberries are great, but the masters of the sound and feel will always be, to me, Big Star. Maybe I just heard them at the right time of my life, but Big Star just capture the whole thrill of spring for me, and the fading memories of what Spring once was and could have been and maybe might be again.

So, that tint of melancholy that is behind every blooming (because all colour fades) and that is ever present in Big Star songs is truly felt this year with the passing of Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel. But enough, it is September, time to think about those September Gurls.

Leave a Reply

